WHOAH! Did you know Roosevelt hosted interesting events like these?

At Roosevelt we don’t just have homecomings and stuffed animals, we also have great talks and events going on!

Getting Paid to Create Change – Career and Graduate School Pathways

Monday, November 5 from 2:00 to 3:30 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, Auditorium Building, room 426. The Mansfield Institute for Social Justice and Transformation is hosting a workshop focusing on career and graduate school pathways for students who want to affect change. . For more information, contact Professor Heather Dalmage at hdalmage@roosevelt.edu

25th Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Distinguished Lecture – The Roosevelts and the Holocaust

Tuesday, November 6 at 12:30 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, Auditorium Building, 7th floor Ganz Hall. Dr. Daniel Greene, professor at Northwestern University and curator of Americans and the Holocaust, will discuss The Roosevelts and the Holocaust. Please RSVP at FDRLecture@roosevelt.edu or (312) 341-3838. For more information, contact Professor Margaret Rung at mrung@roosevelt.edu.

Making a Difference as a Health Science Administrator

Friday, November 9 from 12-1 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, Wabash Building, room 418. Professor Tiha Long, director of Roosevelt’s Health Professions Program, will discuss what a Health Science Administrator is, and the importance of this career. Lunch will be provided, so an RSVP is required by November 5. For more information, contact Professor Tiha Long at tlong04@roosevelt.edu.

Montesquieu Forum Lecture – Wooden Walls: Themistocles and the Battle of Salamis in Herodotus’s History

Thursday, November 15 at 4:30 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, Auditorium Building, room 720. Charlotte Thomas, Professor of Philosophy at Mercer University, will discuss “Wooden Walls: Themistocles and the Battle of Salamis in Herodotus’s History.” For more information, contact Professor Stuart Warner at swarner@roosevelt.edu.

Economics Seminar Lecture – Justice, Economics, and the Student Loan Industry

Thursday, November 15 from 4:30-6 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, Auditorium Building, room 220. Dr. Shermer is associate professor of history at Loyola University Chicago, will be discussing Justice, Economics, and the Student Loan Industry. For more information, contact Professor Steve Ziliak at sziliak@roosevelt.edu.

9th Annual Math x-Position

Friday, November 30 from 9 a.m. – 2 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, in the Wabash Building, room 418. . All members of the Roosevelt community are invited to attend the poster sessions, career panel, keynote address, and competitions that celebrate the work of our mathematics students. The event is free and open to all members of the Roosevelt community, but an RSVP is requested by November 26 for lunch: http://mathxposition.eventbrite.com . For more information, contact Professor Steve Cohen at scohen@roosevelt.edu.

Social Justice Film Series: Sacco and Vanzetti

Thursday, December 6 from 4-6 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, Auditorium Building, room 320. Sacco and Vanzetti were Italian born anarchists convicted of murder and executed in 1927. The verdict was widely thought to be the result of anti-immigrant and anti-leftist political sentiments in the United States. For more information, contact Professor June Lapidus at jlapidus@roosevelt.edu.

Loundy Human Rights Project Lecture – Environments of Justice: Student Researchers Report from the Pacific Northwest

Wednesday, December 12 from 4-5:30 p.m. at the Chicago Campus, Auditorium Building, Sullivan Room, room 220 Roosevelt student researchers will report the results of their comparative investigation in the United States and Canada to Chicago environmental justice leaders. For more information, contact Professor Bethany Barratt at bbarratt@roosevelt.edu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *